Mariah Carey to Perform Live on New Year’s Rockin’ Eve | Billboard Music Awards

Mariah Carey to Perform Live on New Year’s Rockin’ Eve

It’s safe to call Mariah Carey a BBMAs queen. She’s a fourteen-time Billboard Music Award winner, putting her on the list of top 10 BBMAs winners of all time.

If you’re one of Mariah’s lambs who’s been missing your queen, you’re in luck! Mariah will perform live for over one million people in Times Square moments before the ball drops on Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2017.

2016 BBMAs performers DNCE, along with previous BBMAs winners Gloria Estefan and Thomas Rhett, are set to join Carey for performances in the hours leading up to the 2017 countdown on Saturday, Dec. 31 on the ABC Television Network. Fun fact: Carey was the first artist to perform live from Times Square on the program in 2005 and will return to perform her greatest hits during the 45th anniversary of America’s biggest celebration of the year.

“I am so excited to return to ‘Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest’ and feel blessed to be a part of this year’s magical celebration,” said Mariah. “I can’t wait to perform once again for my incredible fans as we ring in the New Year together live from Times Square.”

“Mariah was the first live performance from Times Square in 2005 when I joined Dick Clark as co-host,” said host and executive producer Ryan Seacrest. “After nearly a decade, I am thrilled to be joining her again in Times Square and can’t wait for her to ring in 2017 as our headliner.”

#TBT to @RyanSeacrest and @MariahCarey on #RockinEve in 2006 when she performed It's Like That, Shake It Off & We Belong Together! ✨

A photo posted by New Year's Rockin Eve 2016 (@officialnyre) on

In addition to these performances, actress and comedian Jenny McCarthy will report live from Times Square while pop star Fergie returns to host the Billboard Hollywood Party in Los Angeles.

America’s biggest celebration of the year will include 5 ½ hours of special performances and reports on New Year’s celebrations from around the globe, and Ryan Seacrest will lead the traditional countdown to midnight from Times Square in New York City as he has for the last 11 years.

Read more about this announcement here.

View Comments
comments powered by Disqus